Checking an Item Off My List …Finally

I finished a quick little desk make over the other day. You might remember this guy from my earlier planning post.

desk

Well, now he looks like this.

deskfinished2

This is actually only stage 1 of the project I’d like to complete, which is to build the desk into a more complete wall system, like this. My son’s room is pretty small, so I think this will be the best way to maximize his storage space.

He already helped me pick the color scheme for his new space, orange, gray and a touch of blue. Something like these colors here.

With this in mind I decided to paint the desk in a neutral gray called Wood Smoke.

paintcolor

First I sanded down the top of the table, because I originally intended to stain it.

sandingdesk

But even after I sanded and stained it, the top looked rough, really rough. So I decided stain was out and paint was in.

paint

I was kind of hoping to avoid painting the top because this desk will most definitely be subjected to some heavy duty wear and tear. But we’ll see how it goes.

Now that the desk is finished, I’m going to keep my eye out for some bookshelves and possibly some drawers that I can build into the wall unit. I’ll keep you posted.

 

Leave a Reply

