Couch progress…

The couch upholstery project is progressing. The back and sides are done and I just need to finish the cushions.

couchprogress2

The “fabric” is actually a drop cloth I picked up at Home Depot. I was a little hesitant to use a drop cloth, but when it came down to it, the price was right and so was the color after I bleached it for a few hours following Miss Mustard Seed’s directions.

I started by taking a good look at how the couch was initially put together. Then I removed the old fabric and got to work.

I’ll just say this up front, I had no idea what I was doing and experienced a moment of intense stomach-churning panic once I saw the naked couch.

couchbefore

But once I started attaching the fabric it was actually a pretty easy process. I used an electric staple gun secure the fabric to the back of the couch, stapling it behind the top edge. Then I worked on the arms and sides. The hardest parts were the “elephant ears,” as I like to call them…

elephantear

and the little swirl detail on the arms.

swirl

Being new to upholstering I was  kind of surprised to find that these “swirls” were just pieces of cardboard cut to shape, covered with fabric and nailed onto the couch. I thought it would be something a little more substantial, like wood. But the fact that it was cardboard made it easy to work with. I just took off the old fabric and glued on the new fabric with a hot glue gun.

cardboard

Then I removed the old fabric from the piping and stitched on the new fabric by hand and glued it behind the cardboard. Then I used the glue gun to secure the swirls back onto the couch.

weltingswirlfinished

It seemed daunting, but actually turned out to be pretty easy. I also used the glue gun to secure little loose spots where the staple gun couldn’t reach.

So now, the only thing standing between me and a finished couch is those cushions. I’m not exactly a seamstress so I’m debating bringing them to a local tailor to get them done. I might swing by today and get an estimate on price before I make my decision.

I’m also debating adding a nail-head trim detail. I ordered this trim online from Walmart and had it shipped to the store.

nailpkg

The “tacks” come in one long strip, which  I’ve heard makes it easier to tack on in a straight line. We’ll see. If I don’t use it on the couch, I’ll probably use it on the upholstered headboard I have planned for my son’s room.

I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

